Author Topic: Question about draw length?  (Read 2293 times)

Offline lebhuntfish

• If the wood will bend, I'll make it beautiful!
Question about draw length?
« on: April 06, 2014, 12:32:40 am »
I posted this in another thread as a response. But I believe I needed to start another thread, I felt like I was hijacking. Sorry about that. I'm pasting this here.

I have a question, now I'm a novice, but in my mind you draw a bow while it is braced back to your stopping point where you are comfortable. You are only stretching the bow only from the grip area on the handle to where the string is held. So, no matter what tillering setup I have seen everything is secured from the handle and is either pulled or held down by pulling on the string. So if you measure from the distance from the handle to the string when drawn it should be the same every time. No matter the thickness of the handle area. If the way you guys are saying then if I make a bow with a 28" draw and a 2 in thick handle them the draw length would have to be 30" and if it had a 1" thick handle them the draw length would be 29" according to the way I understand you all.

Now if you make the draw length 28" from belly of handle to where you draw it to then the bow will only be moving that far and that's it 28" then to make sure you don't put an arrow through your hand add the thickness of your handle area plus one inch and cut your arrow. That's how I see it wither right or wrong. Unless some one can explain it to me better. Patrick
Once an Eagle Scout, always an Eagle Scout!

Missouri, where all the best wood is! Well maybe not the straightest!

Building a bow has been the most rewarding, peaceful, and frustrating things I have ever made with my own two hands!

Offline Badger

Re: Question about draw length?
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2014, 01:05:26 am »