Author Topic: Back in the day. Polimer experiments  (Read 1195 times)

Offline policetac

Back in the day. Polimer experiments
« on: January 22, 2014, 03:42:38 am »
Okay, I decided I wanted to show a little of the 2nd build in this run.

It is originally a copy of the first bow in this build, an old "White Oak" belly on a commercial "Red Oak" piece from the local hardware store.

I'm just a hobbyist who likes wood and wanted to build a couple of nice bows. (Turns out the wife had an interest:) So  I use a knife, files, sandpaper, a pencil and an old seamstress tape for measuring.

So here's what happened.
Halfway into the shaping of this bow, I had a run that went to the glue seam. For some reason I don't remember quite right now, I did a strength test, figured it was wide enough, and decided to go ahead and remove equally all the way to the back and follow the rest of the way down. Then looked at the other side, and decided to match it. I was thinking, a light, smooth, fairly fast shooter for my wife.

72" X 1 1/2" X 3/8"

This actually my 4th bow, but going into this project, I knew the first two were disposable.

That said, this one starts with a little story.

Have you ever wondered why they put those labels on chemicals these days? 

Well, it's not because many of us were really sniffing the contents. (although there were some who did a lot of dope! (Get it??? :) That used different types of adhesives in various projects.

Back when I was younger I was of a slightly reckless heart. Not irresponsible mind you, I knew my basics, but there were times when I put together things like solvents and adhesives in a wild attempt to extract some quality or another.

These days I suppose one might call it using what you've got, but I thank God for those days when I figured, "I think it's okay, try a little bit first and see what it does. (The way I saw it, as long as I didn't have to hold my breath, things would probably be okay!