Author Topic: Intro Myself  (Read 7203 times)

Offline timber wolfe

Intro Myself
« on: December 18, 2007, 09:47:45 pm »
Hi Everyone,
I'm new to bow-building.  Live in Port Alberni, Vancouver Island, British Columbia.  Would like to hear from bowyers in the Pacific Northwest as to what native woods I could use or find, other than Pacific yew.  Has anybody ever used wild cherry?  This forum is great ...getting lots of inspiration from bows built by Pappy and the hazelnut bow build-along by Gordon, and also Gordon's vine maple bow.  Ordered The Traditional Bowyers Bible Volume 1,2 and 3.  Could somebody give me some other suggestions for reading materials for building self-longbows?  Thanks and straight shooting!

Offline cowboy

• Paul Wolfe. Springtown, TX
Re: Intro Myself
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2007, 09:54:55 pm »
Theirs lot's of info out there but the BB's aught to tell ya everything you need to know - killiin trees and makin shavin's are the best teacher. Have to ask about your call sign there, cause my name is spelled the same - is that your name? Wolfe? Welcome aboard - these guys pass along tons of info......
When you come upon a track or trail you do not know, follow it to the point of knowing.

Offline michbowguy

« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2007, 10:06:33 pm »
welcome!!!
isnt there vine maple out there?white oak/red oak?
ironwood too?
sugarmaple, just some suggestions.
jamie

brian melton

« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2007, 11:13:41 pm »

Dogwood (flowering), vine maple, ocean spray, bigleaf maple, cascara...to name a few...

Offline Knocker

• Tumwater, Washington
« Reply #4 on: December 19, 2007, 01:11:36 am »
Brian,
Have you ever made a bow with our Oregon White Oak?
Keith
If ye love wealth better than liberty, the tranquility of servitude
better than the animating contest of freedom, go home from
us in peace. We ask not your counsels or arms. Crouch down
and lick the hands which feed you. May your chains set