Author Topic: The Jury is in on the feather backing  (Read 4589 times)

Offline Danzn Bar

The Jury is in on the feather backing
« on: November 24, 2013, 10:54:30 am »
Well Guys,
I have somewhere around 400 arras through this bow,  It is a nice and sunny morning but very cold here in KY, about 25 deg.  But I wanted to shoot Cyclops Molly a few times, I braced her in the house, went outside, it was fifteen minutes or so before I started shooting...............well I warm her up some so with a few half draw pulls.  knocked an arrow and pulled her back to snap, crackle & pop,  sounded like Rice Crispy's.!!  :o   :( :(

The Flex Coat finished cracked across the bow in about six places.  I had been shooting this bow a lot earlier in the fall and even hunted with it after adding some camo tape on her to keep the shine down.  Never shot her in weather colder than 40 deg. until today.

I think what contributed to the cracks is the finish is not flexable enough  :laugh: :laugh:    Seriously,  thick epoxy finish well cured, the feathers made the finished even thicker.  I'm going to remove the finish as best as I can and get her down to wood.  Next time with feathers I'm going to do the finish in true oil or something like that,  it won't create the under glass look, but it might be better for a hunting bow.

It's hard to see with the shiny finish, but here is a pic or two.  Any suggestions as to how to remove the epoxy and feathers is welcome.
I know that some of you were thinking of using the Flex Coat finish, just had to let you guys know................
Live and learn, it will be better next time,  :) ;)
DBar 
Integrity is doing the right thing when no one is looking

Offline Badly Bent

Re: The Jury is in on the feather backing
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2013, 11:29:36 am »