Author Topic: New to Furtaking in Pennsylvania  (Read 3181 times)

Offline CPLSeraphim

New to Furtaking in Pennsylvania
« on: November 17, 2013, 03:22:56 pm »
Hey everyone. I am brand new to hunting for furs, smaller game, ect. I am trying to figure out from you guys what traps are a must to start out... Frankly I have no idea where to start, and don't have a ton of money to pend on gear. What kind of things can you make at home, like snares? And maybe a website I missed talking about trapping. I really appreciate an help. Thanks

Offline Outbackbob48

Re: New to Furtaking in Pennsylvania
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2013, 09:18:33 pm »
CPL, trap size depends on the animals that you are targeting, What part of Pa. ya from, I'm from Erie area, and check out Trapperman.com.  Lots of info. Bob

Offline Trapper Rob

« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2013, 10:03:08 pm »
Duke makes 1 3/4 about $7-$8 apiece good all around trap for coon,fox,coyote,cat & fisher I like 110 for muskrat 3 & 330 for beaver.

Offline nclonghunter

« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2013, 10:16:10 pm »
My suggestion is to "Begin" with trapping water critters like muskrat and mink. Use 110 conibar traps. Lots of fur and easy to catch or at least easier. Most snares can only be used in water. Check your game laws in your state.
Good luck
There are no bad knappers, only bad flakes

Offline CPLSeraphim

« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2013, 01:34:40 pm »
Outback- I live in Indiana, Pa. Going to check out that site now. Also, is PA, with things like rabbits, during small game season, are you allowed to use your bow to shoot rabbits? or is it all just trapping?

Also, I am looking at raccoon and rabbit right now, at least that sized critter. There is a decent sized creek far enough in the woods to be hard for people to get to (Thick brush and no paths) and there are some nice sized holes there, so I'll probably set some snares or traps over there.

Trapper Rob- who is Duke? A PA member?