Author Topic: Would like a bow. Offering red fox, moose antler, etc.  (Read 1656 times)

Offline PaulLovesJamie

• Kutztown Car Wash
Would like a bow. Offering red fox, moose antler, etc.
« on: October 11, 2013, 09:24:15 pm »
I'm still trying to get a serviceable bow from a hand-cut tree off my property, and repeatedly failing. I'll keep trying, but I have to accept that I'm not good at this and rather than buy a bow I'd rather trade for one to hunt with.
So - I'd like to trade for a selfbow.

50 lbs (plus or minus a couple lbs is ok)
28.5" draw length
I'm right handed, 6' tall.
I prefer a shelf to shoot off but could be talked out of it. Maybe.
Would really like osage, but open to other possibilities.
Durable. I'm a one bow guy, I'm likely to use it for a long time.
Definitely want a bow from a stave, not a board bow.

Of course, one of those never-misses hand-shock-free gorgeous masterpieces you guys post pics of would be nice :) but I suspect nobody parts with those. Looks are great, but are secondary to functionality for me.

Not sure what I need to offer to get a nice bow, here's what I have that I can think of:
1) I have a red fox in the freezer. He has been well-fed on my chickens all summer and thought he was having chicken for supper again today, but now the corn is down and I can see so his luck ran out. I'm not very good at brain tanning but could ship the pelt salted or I could have it commercially garment tanned. Average size fox, fur looks good but two .17 caliber holes somewhere. Will confirm condition after skinning & salting. I can skin it to your specs.
2) a commercially tanned possum skin, actually I have 2
3) I have a small moose antler that I still want to make into knife handles, but since I want a bow and I'm not getting to the knives, the antler is on the table.
4) Strings - I have several colors of dacron, can make strings to your specification.
5) I have a leather concealed carry fanny pack I no longer use