Author Topic: Heat gun  (Read 4949 times)

Offline Blaflair2

Heat gun
« on: August 30, 2013, 09:53:48 pm »
Has n e one bought a Wagner heat gun at lowes? Like 30$ just wondering how well it works compared to more expensive ones.
Nothing ventured nothing gained

Hoarfrost

Re: Heat gun
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2013, 09:57:21 pm »
I've been using one for a month or so on leather projects and such. I haven't had any problems but haven't spent a ton of time with it on.

Offline osage outlaw

« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2013, 10:15:30 pm »
I have been using the same wagner heat gun for at least 5 years.  I bought the cheapest model that walmart carried. 
I started out with nothin' and I still got most of it left

Offline DuBois

« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2013, 03:24:28 am »
Thats what I got and it has been no problems for about a year.

Offline DGF

« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2013, 03:32:52 am »
I purchased a cheapie from harbor freight and it's worked well for the limited things I do. I'm sure it's not as fancy as more expensive models but it has a low and high setting  and can be bought for $10 with the coupon regularly found in the American Rifleman magazine. I however haven't used a Wagner or any other brands to compare it against.

-Dan
Wyoming, MI

Offline dwardo

« Reply #5 on: August 31, 2013, 04:21:58 am »
I found more expensive guns last just over a year and just out of warranty.
Where as cheaper guns last about 6 months then blow up, still in warranty so back to the shop with my reciept for a free new one, and repeat ....

Offline Del the cat

• Derek Hutchison Native Wood Self Bows
« Reply #6 on: August 31, 2013, 07:25:02 am »
The thing that can kill em, is switching off and leaving it lying on it's side. They need to be standing nozzle up so that the heat flows up and away like from a chimney. I melted the guts of my facy temperature controlled one bu leaving it nose down in my jig after I switched off >:(
Del