Author Topic: *UPDATE* 48" Red Oak Board bow Completed!!  (Read 10714 times)

Offline skarhand

*UPDATE* 48" Red Oak Board bow Completed!!
« on: August 15, 2013, 06:01:59 pm »
Greetings! I am new to the Primitive Archer boards, but I am really excited about trying out bow building. I have been looking for a new hobby that is not too expensive, but still has that cool factor that stamp collecting just doesn't have, lol. For a long time I did chain mail weaving, and while I enjoyed it, the repetitive motion of bending rings with the pliers really started to bother my hands. (10,000 14 gauge stainless steel rings one at a time counts as repetitive right? LOL)

Anyway, I started looking into bow-making a few weeks ago after a friend told me he was making a PVC one for his son. I had recently made a bow for my son who is 7 by cutting a small thumb thick sapling and tying a string to it. After looking at all of your guys beautiful bows and just the sheer wow factor of being able to hand craft something so neat AND useful, I have started my own bow.

I just got a 3/4" x 1.5" x 48" piece of red oak from Lowe's and have been going to town the last few evenings. I got it roughed out last night and glued the riser on. Tonight I'm going to rough out the grip and glue on my backing (fiberglass mesh Sheetrock tape I had left over, unless I can find something cooler around the house this evening).

My hope is to begin my tillering by the weekend. I have a couple starter pics, but I hope to take some more as I go along. I'd love to see any advice that you all might want to throw my way. My biggest question at this point is, are there any "Make sure you do this" before you do that type things I should know? Thanks in advance, and I can't wait to see how my first bow turns out!

« Last Edit: August 21, 2013, 02:08:17 pm by skarhand »

Offline bow101

Re: 48" Red Oak Board bow
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2013, 06:16:39 pm »