Author Topic: Is there a way to make a bow out of this?  (Read 2996 times)

Offline drumgerry

• My alpaca herd
Is there a way to make a bow out of this?
« on: August 01, 2013, 12:16:02 pm »

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

This is one of two yew staves (Taxus baccata) I cut out on the bandsaw this afternoon.  I am a newbie to bowmaking and I'm wondering whether I could bend the kink out of this stave to make it usable.  It's 64 inches long

If anyone has any ideas how I could proceed with this I'd be very grateful.

Offline dwardo

Re: Is there a way to make a bow out of this?
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2013, 01:48:12 pm »
I would cut off the top 4 inches and rough out a bow. Then try and steam and heat out most of the bend. The main thing is to get the string to intersect the handle.
If i was given the stave I would certainly try it and maybe lose even more length to lose some of that top bend.

Certainly would not cut wood like that new as its a whole lotta work. Some like more of a challenge than me mind.

Offline BOWMAN53

« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2013, 02:06:50 pm »
just bend the bottom limb to line up with the top and now you got a nice snakey yew

Offline Del the cat

• Derek Hutchison Native Wood Self Bows
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2013, 02:22:27 pm »
Yes.
I did a stick bow aon my blog that was waaaay off line. Trying to bend sideways requires tons of heat and oatience.
I found a work around by bending it at the grip which had been narrowed. I narroed it further by cutting out a chunk, bending it and the putting a chunk back in. It makes bending much easier and gives pinpoint control over the bend position.
http://bowyersdiary.blogspot.co.uk/2013/06/straightening-stick-bow.html
Del
Health warning, these posts may contain traces of nut.

Offline The Gopher

• Aim Small, Miss Small
« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2013, 02:38:19 pm »
Del, i love your method of bending the handle, that's being filed somewhere in my brain.
45# at 27"

Offline drumgerry

• My alpaca herd