Author Topic: Easter Woodlands Board Bow Questions  (Read 2591 times)

Offline yebon

Easter Woodlands Board Bow Questions
« on: July 23, 2013, 12:38:02 pm »
Hello all,

I am very new to primitive archery but am very interested. I was looking for a hobby that I could do with my son.  He is only 1 but I came across this website and just thought it was the coolest thing.  I want to start to learn how to build bows arrows and other primitive items so when my son is of age we can do it together.
  I am looking to make my first board bow soon.  I really like the look of the eastern woodlands style bows.  I have some questions tho.  I at this time cannot afford the Traditional bowyers bible so I do not have a good depiction of what the dimensions were.  From what I have seen form posts is that they are around 64" but that is all I know.  What I was planning was one that was around the 64" ntn and around 45-50lbs draw at around 27".  I was hoping someone could give me some guidance on dimensions wood selection (Board Bow). and any other tips would be greatly appreciated. 

Thanks I am really excited to start.

Chris

Offline BOWMAN53

Re: Easter Woodlands Board Bow Questions
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2013, 01:45:52 pm »

Offline Thesquirrelslinger

« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2013, 01:46:37 pm »
Make it around 70", red oak or hickory 1x2*. I haven't tried hickory(i can't get any) yet, but I have made a few of the red oak ones.  Mark the center of the board, then mark the centerline(parallel to the sides) of the board. At the tips- mark 3/16 from the centerline on both sides, then draw lines so the board looks sort of like this-
EDIT- attachment 1.
The tips should be about 3/8 inch wide to 1/2 inch wide, full thickness of board.
the handle should be about 1 3/4 or so wide, full thickness of board.
 the limbs should taper from the handle to the tips.