Author Topic: AtlAtl question.  (Read 2039 times)

Offline warpath

AtlAtl question.
« on: July 09, 2013, 08:04:14 pm »
  I've been making atlatls for many years now and I've tried something new. (New to me that is.) I've been plugging the ends of bamboo similar to how bamboo arrows are made. Then carve the dimple in the tapered end and carving the the fatter end into a point to accept common target tips and broadheads in either 11/32" or 23/64" diameter. After about 9 months of using the set I made for myself, I've never had any problems with them and most likely won't go back to foreshafts. I've also shaped the fletching to a low profile medieval style cut instead of leaving them flu-flu like. I guess my question is, why don't people do this more often?
  I understand that a foreshaft is easier to replace. However, plugging the ends has made the darts so sturdy that they haven't broken or even cracked yet. 2 sets were made. 4 darts out of tonkin bamboo and 4 darts out of calcutta bamboo. Anyone else try this yet? Feedback encouraged. Thank you.

G

Offline stickbender

Re: AtlAtl question.
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2013, 08:52:37 pm »

As far as I know, or have read, the main reason for fore shafts were so the points could be quickly replaced while hunting.  If you hit an animal, and the dart came out, you could slip in another fore shaft,and point, and continue, or if you missed, and broke the point, you had a readily available replacement.  Sort of like replacing clips. ;)

Wayne

Offline warpath

« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2013, 09:13:24 pm »
Stickbender-  I realize that. However, I leant the set-up to a friend of mine and he made meat with it. I was impressed since he's not the best atlatl thrower. He hit 2 trees and a few rocks before making a kill and didn't ruin the darts. He did have to replace a few tips though. Since I mostly use mine for target practice and just generally messing around, it's worked out great for me. Any other thoughts?

G