Author Topic: Odds of exploding arrows?  (Read 18233 times)

Offline hurlbri1

Odds of exploding arrows?
« on: June 17, 2013, 11:30:34 am »
So I think I got 19 out of 50 decent 5/16" birch dowels to make arrows from (ordered from Woodcrafters someone suggested on this site). I think that might be a little high in terms of percentage from what most of you seem to get from the lumber yard or online...what makes me more nervous is the picture I found of an arrow splintered in someone's hand!

Now I am totally freaked out and uncertain of my selection.  I don't care that the arrow breaks after hitting a tree--I've already trashed a set of Carbons (I am not that good at Archery just yet, ok?!  :-[  ) So if I break a few dowels, it's easier on the pocket book.

However, I am NOT OK with getting an exploding arrow in my bow hand because I can't choose the right grain!!! 

In short, I am freaked out now about making my own arrows.  The bow I am making them for is 43# Hickory flatbow.  Do I break the bank and order the pre-spined wood shafts from 3-Rivers?  Do I go with the bamboo garden stake idea in the buildalong posted here?

How scared do I need to be with an exploding arrow in the hand? 

Thoughts?

Thank you!!!
-Brian
"All science is either physics or stamp collecting" -Ernest Rutherford

Offline paulsemp

Re: Odds of exploding arrows?
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2013, 12:42:22 pm »
it's only a arrow in your hand,  just think of it as a really big splinter >:D  if you order shafts from a reputable company I would say the chances are slim to none
it's never happened to me and I've shot some questionable shafts

Offline half eye

« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2013, 01:00:47 pm »