Author Topic: Help with Handshock - tillering  (Read 4571 times)

Offline bubbles

• PM110769
Help with Handshock - tillering
« on: June 05, 2013, 09:12:49 pm »
Got a problem with handshock on this bow I'm tillering - 66" ntn, Red oak with Rawhide backing. 2" wide most of the limb.  Width tapers from 2" to 1/2" at the nocks, staring at mid limb.  I'm at 50#@25" going for 50#@27".   I'm not sure if I should be taking wood from the bottom limb or top limb or whip the tips a bit (which i started doing, then thought I should ask for advice).   The limbs seem pretty matched up to me, but I am a newb, so I could be way off here.   

Offline Ifrit617

Re: Help with Handshock - tillering
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2013, 09:20:51 pm »
Tiller doesn't look bad. I'd reduce the outer limbs width a bit. Should take care of hand shock.

Jon

Offline BOWMAN53

« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2013, 09:32:59 pm »
Inner limbs arent bending at all. most of the bend with a pyramid designs should happen on the inner 2/3.

Offline bubbles

• PM110769
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2013, 09:59:56 pm »
Not a pyramid design, sides are parallel (2" wide) until midlimb, where they taper to the nocks (1/2")

Offline Hamish

« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2013, 10:06:14 pm »
Tiller looks pretty good. What does it feel like when shooting at 25"?Is there any handshock? As you are new to making bows then you have already done a good job. The nuances of improving can be left to subsequent bows. 
Interpretation of handshock, can be very subjective. Try using heavier arrows. Gluing  leather shims onto the back, at the handle then shaping to fit your grip can also do wonders, to improve shootability.
 As its not a pyramid bow, you don't want the inner limbs bending more, as you will just get more set than is necessary, possibly even worse shock with tips doing even less work.
                                   Hamish.

Offline SLIMBOB

• Deplorable Slim
« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2013, 11:04:45 pm »