Author Topic: got some suprise wood today  (Read 3308 times)

Offline bubby

got some suprise wood today
« on: May 17, 2013, 08:47:17 pm »
my neighbor is a caretaker at a local golf course, brought me home a bunch of paper birch about 6" dia stuff,will get atleast 4-5 bows out of it and some shorter stuff for billets, good idea not to po the guy next door :laugh:
failure is an option, everyone fails, it's how you handle it that matters.
The few the proud the 27🏹

Offline BowEd

• BowEd
Re: got some suprise wood today
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2013, 08:56:02 pm »
Heck ya bub.Can the bark on that be good for backing too?Paper birch reads about in the mid 50s' for density.I've never worked it before though.
I just found a couple of Iowa Yew growing in the town next door I can have.They got 8 to 9 inch trunks.I see bows there but wonder about the quality of the Yew in Iowa.I'm not going to be able to get mine delivered though.....LOL.Nice score bub.
BowEd
You got to stand for something or you'll fall for anything.
Ed

Offline bubby

« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2013, 09:04:14 pm »
only way to find out about that Iowa yew is to make some bows and then you'll know, don't know about the bark but it is nice having it hand delivered :laugh:

Offline BowEd

• BowEd
« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2013, 09:14:03 pm »
Yep I know.Gotta pull some shavings to find out about this yew.Thought maybe someone might have gone through this scenario before.Still does'nt tell me enough.I'll have to find out myself.
Your bark if taken off carefully can be used as a backing.Over sinew I think it's better protection from moisture than snake skin.
BowEd
Ed

Offline Joec123able

« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2013, 09:24:54 pm »
Heck ya bub.Can the bark on that be good for backing too?Paper birch reads about in the mid 50s' for density.I've never worked it before though.