Author Topic: Wood prep question. I feel like a moron asking  (Read 3174 times)

Offline KrisDelger

• Just another guy breaking sticks
Wood prep question. I feel like a moron asking
« on: May 14, 2013, 06:16:44 am »
Alright laddies and gents nice to meet everyone I'm Kris I'm a complete novice when it comes to making bows and I've been trying my damndest to complete a functional successful bow. So far I've been mostly attempting board bows since they seemed to be easier to make and I don't really have the experience chasing rings (I'm going to give that a shot in another three months once the lovely ash staves I have hidden away in my shop have finished their year in seclusion.)
So long story short I have managed to detonate 8 board bows in the past few months and it's really starting to hit me at heart and make me feel like I'm not going to get anywhere. I've been mostly working with Red Oak, and Maple, (Buying some hickory and yellowheart on payday), I really love working with the pyramid bow shape but each of these bows has failed on me. Whats bothering me is that they haven't been the same types of failures. A few have raised splinters that then cracked the bow, one was a glue failure between the handle and bow while tillering, two failed after I'd gotten them to a point where I was very pleased (Both pulled about 50pounds on my scale but after the first 20 shots the first bow managed to delaminate the horn I'd overlaid onto the wood -most likely my fault- the second bow for some reason I can't comprehend decided to just release the lower mid-limb and crack itself in half after 10 arrows.)

Needless to say it's pretty disheartening but I'm not going to give up! If you aren't breaking bows you aren't making bows right? I'm currently sitting with three more boards of red oak to try and work and a board I've just started to shape into a nice pyramid. I'm going to try a Mollegabet next just because I love the looks of it.