Author Topic: how to choose an osage stave  (Read 1467 times)

Offline osagejack

how to choose an osage stave
« on: April 12, 2013, 11:04:46 am »
just wandering what everyone looks for in osage,,   what matters the most? does it need to be straight,,does it have to have thick rings,,or thin,,does it need to grow in a river bottom,,in a valley out of wind,,must not have any twist,, just wandering  mike

Offline SLIMBOB

• Deplorable Slim
Re: how to choose an osage stave
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2013, 11:12:34 am »
It's all good.  I used to look for the longest straightest limbs or trunks.  Not any more.  Well, no, I still like the long straight ones, but I like the knotty crooked as well.  I just avoid spiral grain (bark), other than that, can I see a bow in there.
Liberty, In God We Trust, E Pluribus Unum.  Distinctly American Values.

Offline Gsulfridge

« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2013, 11:36:09 am »
I'm still a rookie, so I like straight, clean, and wide rings.
Greg Sulfridge, Lafollette, TN

Offline osagejack

« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2013, 12:06:53 pm »
after a while your boundries with osage will expand,,every year I go back to farms I have cut on for 20years,,and get trees that I have passed over for years and wonder why I haven't cut them before,,i look for quality wood good late wood ratio,, I don't worry about anything else, not knots ,holes,or twist,,everything else can be over come,, but if you start with poor quality wood,,you will end with poor quality wood,,i try to approach every tree , every stave, every bow as the one of a kind that they are,, mike

Offline Parnell

« Reply #4 on: April 12, 2013, 12:58:06 pm »
I'm at the point now where if I've got to make an Osage bow for someone I want a nice clean piece.  For myself, I want funky.  I'm working on a piece that was a "make me an offer" stave.  It's got a big knot, pin holes, a kink, thicker rings running to thin rings, etc.