Author Topic: Sore joints from shooting  (Read 2104 times)

Offline Stalkingfox

• Not all those who wander lost. _J.R.R. Tolkien
    • Innerfield
Sore joints from shooting
« on: April 01, 2013, 10:50:28 am »
I am fairly new to archery and built all of my own equipment, arrows quiver and bow.
I was so excited I made my own target for slabs of cardboard layered together so i could shoot at the ends and brought it down to the river near where I live.

After a few weeks I decided to take an entire day and practice, well after which my index finger was sore but only in my knuckle connectingto my hand. (The first knuckle).

Is there a way to relieve this at home without going to a hospital?
Not all those who wander are lost.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Sore joints from shooting
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2013, 10:57:49 am »
Stop shooting for a few days. You might try an anti inflamitory like asprin or ibuprofin...but stop shooting until it feels better.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Stalkingfox

• Innerfield
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2013, 11:25:40 am »
Aw... I was hoping it would be faster than that :( lol What is it from Pat do you know?

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2013, 12:19:39 pm »
Sounds like tendonitis or the inflamation around the tendon casing. I have a similar condition but mine is from somethin else and it doesn't hurt when I shoot.