Author Topic: Hickory boardbow  (Read 3559 times)

Offline crwjr

Hickory boardbow
« on: March 25, 2013, 11:54:12 am »
this is how far I have come with my first boardbow. and really first bow every I do have a honey locust in the works but took a break from it to do this one. the support board is 22.5" and I am not sure of the poundage yet. Im guessing around 40-45 right now. I would like to know if this tillering is going good so far and if you see anything that needs to be done I am very new to this and not sure of what it should look like in this stage. I will try to build a tillering tree later today but we were hit with some snow today so its kinda slow going. so far the bow is flexing kinda heavy but evenly. Thanks everyone Carter
Pick a spot
Aim small miss small

Offline Slackbunny

Re: Hickory boardbow
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2013, 12:05:36 pm »
That's looking pretty darn good to me. You are awfully close to having yourself a bow!

Offline okie64

« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2013, 12:20:14 pm »
Looks pretty good. Shorten your string up to where you get about a 4-5 inch brace height and then see what it looks like.

Offline crwjr

« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2013, 12:32:47 pm »
Looks pretty good. Shorten your string up to where you get about a 4-5 inch brace height and then see what it looks like.
Thanks everybody, I just shortened up to about a two inch brace height and it was a bear to put on. I believe I got a bit more wood to remove. When should I try to get it to full draw?
Pick a spot
Aim small miss small

Offline k-hat

« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2013, 01:01:27 pm »