Author Topic: bamboo backing  (Read 3383 times)

todd robbins

bamboo backing
« on: October 28, 2007, 06:44:07 pm »
I'm a newbie at bow making, and have a question that I hope someone here can help me with.  I just bought a board stave and a bamboo backing strip.  The bamboo is planed flat and ready to glue, except for roughing up the back.  The stave is perfectly flat, straight, and square.  However, while the bamboo backing strip is square and flat, it has about a 1.5" sideways bow in it.  Will this be a problem to glue up?  It was perfectly aligned with the stave in the packaging it came in(bubble wrap covered generously with clear tape), and showed the bowing after I released the packaging.  If it glues up OK, will it cause any other issues after the bow is finished?  Oh, the bow will be an American flat bow, a little overbuilt b/c I'm pretty new at this, and I'm also pretty tall and long armed, with about a 30" draw.   

Thank you guys very much!

Todd

Offline snedeker

Re: bamboo backing
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2007, 08:50:04 pm »
there are ways this can be dealt with, but if you bought the stuff at full price, it should be straight.  If its trade stuff or whatever, we'll come up with a plan.

Dave

huntersim

« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2007, 09:06:32 pm »
Clamp it on your board and pull it the other direction just past straight and clamp it. Then use a heat gun on it through the bend.

Offline Justin Snyder

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2007, 09:22:57 pm »
Draw the profile of the bow on the wood and cut it out.  Then set it on the flat side of the bamboo and see if it will set on without hanging off the sides.  You may have to bend it a little, but wood is rarely perfect so that is a good thing to learn anyway.  Post pictures if you can, they always help us give the correct advice.  Justin
Everything happens for a reason, sometimes the reason is you made a bad decision.

SW Utah

todd robbins

« Reply #4 on: October 28, 2007, 10:58:47 pm »