Author Topic: chasing rings osage and black locust, green vs dry wood?  (Read 2212 times)

Offline rapaport

chasing rings osage and black locust, green vs dry wood?
« on: March 03, 2013, 06:04:18 pm »
I am new to osage and black locust. What are your opinions on chasing rings on these two types of wood? When is it best to chase rings? After completely dried or is it easier to chase when still green? Which of the two are easier to chase rings on? Is black locust similar in characteristics to osage when chasing rings? I have a 7" to 8" diameter  6' long straight and no twist osage log from what I can see. I will split in half. Ends are sealed with two thick coats of polyurethane. Im trying tobe very careful and need to  make sure I doing things right. So if u guys could help me out with green vs dry ring chasing for both. Thanks.

Offline JonW

Re: chasing rings osage and black locust, green vs dry wood?
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2013, 06:15:11 pm »
You will likely get differing opinions on this topic. I personally let them dry with bark on and ends sealed. I don't chase rings until I'm ready to make a bow. As far as BL vs Osage, I think Osage is easier to chase a ring on although BL isn't real hard to chase.

Offline osage outlaw

« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2013, 06:50:19 pm »
I like to rip the bark and sapwood off, seal them, and put them up to season.  When I'm ready to make a bow, I'll even the back up with the drawknife and then rough out the bow on the bandsaw.  Then I'll chase it to the final ring very carefully.  I figure why chase a ring on the entire stave when I can do it on a bow sized piece of wood instead.  After I get the back to a single ring then I'll cut it out to thickness.  That's with osage.  I haven't used BL yet.
I started out with nothin' and I still got most of it left

blackhawk

« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2013, 07:57:18 pm »