Author Topic: Help with cholla knife handle (finished)  (Read 8509 times)

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Help with cholla knife handle (finished)
« on: February 22, 2013, 11:31:28 am »
I'm making a few small knives from some blades Keenan cut out for me. I wanted to haft these two blades to cholla handles but I'm not sure how or what is the best way to do so. Any suggestions?
Here is what I'll be working with...
« Last Edit: March 02, 2013, 11:38:32 am by Pat B »
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline bowtarist

• Primitive Archer Subscription Number PM103651
Re: Help with Jolla knife handle
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2013, 12:13:08 pm »
I've never worked w/ "jolla" before, but those are some cool looking blades.  On the flitknapping page, guys post regularlly w/ that type of handle.  Epoxy filled, sinew wrapped and add a bone, horn, or osage butt cap and those babes will be awesome.  Can't wait to see the finished product!  Man, are those this years leaves already?  Look how green it is; I usually love winter, but can't wait for spring this year it's all icy here today. dpg
(:::.)    Osage music played daily. :)

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2013, 02:37:00 pm »
Thanks, I'll post on the Knapping thread.
  The leaves are evergreen. Not spring here yet.  ;)
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline vinemaplebows

« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2013, 02:41:18 pm »
Pat,

I would start by beveling the edge down tward the blade, choose your wrapping sinew..ect.  The top piece of Cholla I have used antler burr as a end cap, or a wood that is to to your liking. Wish I still had pics of the one I did some yrs back, but don't any more.
Debating is an intellectual exchange of differing views...with no winners.

Offline YosemiteBen

« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2013, 04:58:49 pm »