Author Topic: Can i hunt deer with this?  (Read 6357 times)

Offline Velociraptor

Can i hunt deer with this?
« on: January 02, 2013, 11:59:47 am »
Hello everybody,

I'm new in bow world,and i want to ask you:could i hunt down deer with 35 lbs homemade primitive bow?
I don't wanna hunt anything-that was theoretical question.
I found this video on youtube that looks mostly like mine bow,im not sure what's it draw weight,but since i made short bow from black locust i was lucky to found that video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0c5w20cFMIU

Thank you

Offline darwin

Re: Can i hunt deer with this?
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2013, 01:22:53 pm »
Technically Yes, with perfect shot placement you could. Would I try, No. I don't have enough confidence in my shooting that Id be willing to risk a shot with that low of poundage, nor would I ever recommend a 35 lb bow for deer. In my opinion I'd want at least 45lbs and I use a 55lb bow, others with more experience may have differing opinions.

Just remember all hunters (especially bow hunters) have a responsibility towards the animals they hunt, and a poor shot that would cause a deer to be unrecoverable or worse maimed for life is something that should be avoided at all costs. 

Offline H Rhodes

« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2013, 04:04:07 pm »
Our state has a 35lb minimum draw weight for deer hunting. 

I watched that video and I think that bow is some heavier - maybe around 50 or more.... I didn't see the specs on it, just sort of judging by the sounds of the shot (twang of string to striking of target).  Not too scientific, I know lol...