Author Topic: Pecan as a Bow Wood?  (Read 7247 times)

Offline WDELongbow

Pecan as a Bow Wood?
« on: December 28, 2012, 06:36:13 pm »
I am interested in using pecan as a bow wood.  Any reason that pecan would or would not be a good choice for a bend through the handle, Cherokee style D-bow? Also, any idea where a fellow could find a pecan stave?  I have searched online and came up empty. I have heard that like hickory, with pecan you can scrape off the bark and that is basically your outer surface of the back of bow.  I am a complete newbie, so this would help - not having to chase a ring. Thanks!

Offline Newindian

Re: Pecan as a Bow Wood?
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2012, 07:13:29 pm »
I haven't used pecan my self, but I have heard of it being similar to hickory. that said it would prefer a flat cross section over a d. I doubt you'll find any body selling pecan staves so you can find a tree. or if you lucky some one will be willing to make a trade
I like free stuff.

Offline Newindian

« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2012, 07:17:40 pm »
you should also do a search on this site ,if you haven't all ready, I believe there are several topics on it
I like free stuff.

Offline RyanY

« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2012, 07:43:06 pm »
Pecan is a great bow wood but don't limit yourself to it if you're having difficulty finding it. Start with something that's available like a red oak board bow. Also I'd choose a longer design for your first since shorter bows aren't as forgiving.

Offline Hrothgar

« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2012, 08:09:27 pm »
Pecan is a hickory ( close enough that it can cross pollinate and produce a "hiccan"). It makes a great bow and is sometimes sold as a hickory.
" To be, or not to be"...decisions, decisions, decisions.

Offline WDELongbow

« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2012, 08:45:40 pm »
Seems like our local Lowes or Home Depot carries pecan boards.  I may look into that as an option. Thanks for all the info.

Offline Bryce

• Global Moderator