Author Topic: Anything I need to know about yew?  (Read 2675 times)

Offline Lee Lobbestael

Anything I need to know about yew?
« on: December 18, 2012, 12:39:31 am »
Well I have to yew billets that I have been avoiding for several years because I have never spliced before. I finally picked them up today and cut the z splice in them. I have alot of sanding and filing to do to get them to fit perfect but with luck I will have a nice piece of yew to work with in a few days.

I have never worked with yew before. Here are the things I think I know: leave an 1/8" or so of sap wood on back, you don't have to stay on one growth ring on the back, and yew can get compression fractures easily.

I was planning on making a flat bow about an 1 5/8" wide. Is there anything I should know before I get started? Also does yew chrysal as easily as black locust? I hope not!

Offline Weylin

Re: Anything I need to know about yew?
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2012, 12:45:37 am »
I've never seen a chrysal on yew. Not saying it cant happen but I definitely don't think it is prone to it. Yew has great compression strength, that's why it can take such a narrow profile without suffering from the set that other woods would take. I would also say that 1/4" is a better sapwood thickness to shoot for. I think if you try to reduce down to 1/8" you might run the risk of having islands of heartwood on the back.

What is the length of your stave and what draw weight and draw length are you hoping for? That will help determine an appropriate width.

Yew's really amazing stuff, you definitely want to treat it right but I don't think that you need to worry at all about chrysals on a well designed and tillered bow.
« Last Edit: December 18, 2012, 12:50:17 am by Weylin »

Offline Lee Lobbestael

« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2012, 12:57:51 am »