Author Topic: starting my first osage bow. I have a few ?s W/pics.  (Read 9694 times)

Offline Jesse

starting my first osage bow. I have a few ?s W/pics.
« on: October 01, 2007, 10:31:45 pm »
Hi guys. I have made hickory bows from stave but this is my first attempt with osage. I have some snakey knotty billets I got from ebay. To me it looks like firewood but after hanging out on here for a while I am sure they will make bows with a lot of straightening. My Questions are. What is the ideal moisture content? Right now it is 9%. cut last winter. One of the sets will be a self bow. One a boo backed bow. on the backed bow would I straighten it first or just cut it flat disregarding the natural shape?  There will be plenty more questions later Im sure. looking at this wood I can tell this will be much harder than my boo backed ipe  or hickory bows. Which one would you use first? The straight one is saw cut.    Thanks.
                                                                                                         Jesse
"If you can find a path with no obstacles, it probably doesn't lead anywhere."
    --Frank A. Clark

Offline cowboy

• Paul Wolfe. Springtown, TX
Re: starting my first osage bow. I have a few ?s W/pics.
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2007, 10:57:42 pm »
Hey Jesse: With my limited knowledge - them look purty to me. Can't answer any of your question's but cept for a couple - that looks like some nice sage.
When you come upon a track or trail you do not know, follow it to the point of knowing.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2007, 12:17:41 am »