Author Topic: One more hunting point  (Read 1634 times)

Offline gstoneberg

One more hunting point
« on: September 28, 2012, 12:05:02 am »
I started shooting my flint arrows today, but only have 2 done I really like.  Interestingly, they fly best cock feather in instead of out.  Not sure why.  Anyway, I needed another point to finish out my hunting arrows so I found a heated spall from Patrick and chipped out a point.

It had an interesting concrete spot that ended up being near the point end.

Kind-a looks like an eye. ???  The point is thicker there, but I think it'll be OK.  I'm going to wait until after I've hafted and shot it to finish the sharpening.

George
St Paul, TX

Offline Tower

Re: One more hunting point
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2012, 02:01:02 pm »
Perfect size for hunting. Man you are really cranking them out.
He who sacrifices freedom for a security deserves neither one.  Benjamin Franklin!

Offline TRACY

« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2012, 10:53:29 pm »
Another good point George! I've had a few that shot better with cock feather in, never questioned it as long as it hit where I aim ;)

Tracy
It is what it is - make the most of it!    PN500956

Offline gstoneberg

« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2012, 11:03:08 pm »
Thanks guys.  I've shot all 4 arrows now, and this point flies best of them, not sure why.  Again, cock feather in, but it is a dart.  I have it sharpened up and in the quiver.  Hope the wind and rain don't keep me out of the woods tomorrow.

George
St Paul, TX

Offline soy

• pm106221
« Reply #4 on: September 29, 2012, 12:21:32 am »
I bet it flys good cuz it can see where is going with that eye ;) that's a good looking Point George
Is this bow making a sickness? or the cure...

Offline Trapper Rob

« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2012, 09:26:48 pm »
Nice point
Rob

Offline criveraville

• Psalm 127:4
« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2012, 11:03:23 pm »
OH... That's nice George :o

Cipriano