Author Topic: arrow material ID  (Read 2137 times)

Offline boughnut

arrow material ID
« on: August 30, 2012, 12:19:41 pm »
Ok so my wife asked me to teacher how to make a hunting bow and arrow set up just off what we can gather in the woods.  this is my first attempt at making arrows but so far so good they are looking nice I am just not sure if I have good material here or not.  It seems hard and was easy to get straight but still not sure.  any suggestions as to what these shoots are and if they are good or not will be great.  There are two different types here I hope the pics help one has very small leafes and the other are much larger about 3 inch in length or so.

thanks

Offline boughnut

Re: arrow material ID
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2012, 12:22:21 pm »
more pics

Offline Nifty

« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2012, 02:19:27 pm »
The first one looks like Ligustrum. Not sure on the second one with bigger leaves.
-Daniel B

"You can take the boy outta the country, but you can't take the country out of the boy"

Offline boughnut

« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2012, 02:21:58 pm »
The second one had Identical bark to some wild cherry trees i harvisted about a year ago for staves.  but could not remember if the leafs matched.  Is the one you mentioned any good for arrows The are very dry now and seem to have a pretty high spine weight.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #4 on: August 30, 2012, 09:30:29 pm »
The first is privet(Ligustrum) and the second looks like cherry. Both will make arrows. If the cherry is black cherry they are hard to keep straight in my experience.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline crooketarrow

« Reply #5 on: August 31, 2012, 07:53:14 am »
  First 2 pic's. are ALTERNET (GRAY) DOG WOOD.