Author Topic: home bru stave press and shave horse  (Read 9752 times)

Offline KHalverson

home bru stave press and shave horse
« on: July 28, 2012, 09:43:13 pm »
I'm pretty new to bow building but figured why stand at a bench when ya can sit and be nice and comfy
so a trip to the local steel supplier for some drops of the proper stock 6x6 square tube and 1/4 flat stock
then a trip to the lumber yard and here's what i came up with
it'll hold any thing from a sizable quarter split to a branch bow

questions, comments and critiques welcome
thanks
Kevin

blackhawk

Re: home bru stave press and shave horse
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2012, 10:08:48 pm »
Kevin...My only question is...will you please bring it to elm hall next weekend so I can try it out? If I like it I might not get off it for hours tho  >:D :)

Offline coaster500

« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2012, 10:16:03 pm »
Very slick :)
Inspiration, information and instruction by the ton and it's free,,, such a deal :)

Offline Badly Bent

« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2012, 10:17:22 pm »
Looks like it works well, does the stave press swivel? I'm trying to come up with something similar that is portable, folds up and has a tillering tree incorporated into it and is still stable. Also is the stave horse gentle on the bows back and if you ordered it via mail was delivery on time and quick?  I need to put something together within two weeks and still am not sure of a design. Thanks
Greg
I ain't broke but I'm badly bent.

owlbait

« Reply #4 on: July 28, 2012, 11:03:18 pm »
Blackhawk, you can sit on my bench if you help me with the osage I've got. Bugholes all over, and deep too. The leather in these presses seems to work good but it might take a more experienced eye to look for damage to the back. Plenty of room to angle the staves to so  you can work from different angles on them. Kevin made these, didn't come in the mail ;D

Offline vinemaplebows

« Reply #5 on: July 28, 2012, 11:37:53 pm »