Author Topic: Sculptural bow builds  (Read 12103 times)

Offline Mistergone

Sculptural bow builds
« on: July 16, 2012, 09:24:50 pm »
Hi all,
I've been lurking and learning for about a year now and have finally gotten the courage to share the few bows I've built so far. First thing to know is that I graduated with a BFA in sculpture years ago but that mindset still completely dictates the look and design of my bows. I've slowly been learning how to integrate my more sculptural qualities into functional bows (I got into bow making purely as a decorative prop thing but soon couldn't help but make them fully functional). I've been working mainly with hard maple and a few early bows from red oak, I back everything with silk to minimize potential rookie mistakes and to compensate for any weakness my carvings introduce. Once I get a commissioned wall sculpture out of the way I plan on doing a bamboo backed walnut bow with ebony tips (so frackin excited!) Anyways, I'd love to hear all comments, I got used to brutal honestly early in my schooling so go nuts, and if anyone has any advice on walnut bows I'd really love to hear it.

And if you have any questions about any of the bows fire away, Its a bit lonely being the only one around me that enjoys bow building :P
« Last Edit: July 16, 2012, 09:36:54 pm by Mistergone »

Offline Will H

Re: Sculptural bow builds
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2012, 09:31:41 pm »
Wow! Those are some cool lookin bows!
Proud Member of Twin Oaks Bowhunters
           Clarksville, Tennessee

"Middle Tennessee is the place to be"

Offline LivingElemental

• Appalachi/Wataugi/East Tennessee
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2012, 09:34:57 pm »
That's pretty incredible. What do you use to carve those with?
Alzamaal illi yadour 'ala qurnayn fakhira, yarja' idhana maqtu'a.

Offline Nifty

« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2012, 09:38:37 pm »
That work is impressive, you're obviously very talented. I'd love to see some closer shots of some of the details!
-Daniel B