Author Topic: coffee wood  (Read 1790 times)

Offline warpath

coffee wood
« on: July 13, 2012, 09:56:39 pm »
hello everyone. i'm brand new to primitive archer, however i've been making bows and arrows for over 25 years. I've recently acquired a decent supply of Kentucky Coffeewood that is rediculously straight grained and i was going to plane some arrow shafts out of it. Does anyone have any experience making bows with this material? I almost completed a bamboo backed bow with it and it was looking good at 53#@28" when it busted throught the backing! >:( If anyone has any advice it would be greatly appreciated. I saw that someone made a recurve selfbow with it at one time, but that was all I was able to find as far as making a bow with it

Offline gstoneberg

Re: coffee wood
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2012, 10:32:24 pm »
Was this the one you saw?  http://www.primitivearcher.com/smf/index.php/topic,31172.0.html  It won Bow of the Month back in March.

George
St Paul, TX

Offline AJMag

« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2012, 10:42:38 pm »
I'm still mystified my Timo's. I'm waiting for a kentucky coffee to get here and dry some.  http://www.primitivearcher.com/smf/index.php/topic,18322.msg254360/topicseen.html#msg254360

Offline warpath

« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2012, 10:49:46 pm »
Gstoneberg- Yes. that is the only example of a coffewwood bow that i was able to find. The coffeewood that i have is straight grained enough to make one like that, i just wanted to back it for extra strength and longevity. Any suggestions?

Offline Buckeye Guy

« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2012, 11:16:53 pm »
Welcome to PA
I Know almost nothing about Coffee wood !
Have fun !
Guy
Guy Dasher
The Marshall Primitive Archery Rendezvous
Primitive Archery Society
Having  fun
To God be the glory !

Offline gstoneberg

« Reply #5 on: July 14, 2012, 12:22:43 am »
... i just wanted to back it for extra strength and longevity. Any suggestions?