Author Topic: new to knapping, homemade tools  (Read 3129 times)

Offline uncleduck

• Dave W
new to knapping, homemade tools
« on: May 27, 2012, 09:47:06 pm »
This is my first time getting into knapping. I recently got a nice stone knife and some chunks of knappable rocks from a trade with Bear Claw (thanks), so I decided to give it a whirl. I started out by making some tools, so here they are:

1.5", 1.25", .75"  I also made a 2" one, but still have to find a handle for it. Each copper end was beat into a more round shape than they come from the store, then filled 3/4 of the way with some melted down sinkers, and epoxied on the the antler handles.

I have a smaller antler tine put aside for pressure flaking also, but was thinking maybe I could use that aluminum gutter spike (with a handle) until I find some copper for a flaker??

I think I will start out with some glass bottle bottoms first, so I'm off to go empty some after they reach proper emptying temperature  ;)

Offline TRACY

Re: new to knapping, homemade tools
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2012, 11:30:58 pm »
Welcome! Nice set of billets/boppers. You came to the right place for advice and mentoring. Ask away

Tracy
It is what it is - make the most of it!    PN500956

Offline Tower

« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2012, 11:49:47 pm »
Welcome Uncleduck, to the adventure,obsession,& addiction called FlINTKNAPPING! Great looking boppers. Tracy is right there is a cornucopia of knowledge in PA. A real good bunch of guys & gals. Need any advice, just ask. Tower
He who sacrifices freedom for a security deserves neither one.  Benjamin Franklin!

Offline Bear Claw

« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2012, 12:27:19 am »
Lots of very knowledgeable knappers on here, all willing to share their experience and skill. Any questions you have feel free to ask. Welcome to the addiction. Lol
Aaron from northwest Arkansas.

Offline cowboy

• Paul Wolfe. Springtown, TX
« Reply #4 on: May 28, 2012, 08:32:21 am »