Author Topic: Scraping while strung during tiller!  (Read 6062 times)

Offline kevinnator11

• Just a new guy learning all of the tips and tricks
Scraping while strung during tiller!
« on: May 22, 2012, 03:30:57 pm »
I saw a post recently where someone said that they liked using a scraper because they didn't have to unstring the bow while tillering.  Apparently they just scrape the areas they need while it's still on the tree.  Doesn't sound right to me.

Is this true?  If so I sure have been wasting a lot of time.  I tend to go really slow since I'm not very good at the tillering yet.  I made up several lengths of strings and I just grab whatever I need to use.   Probably way better at making string than bows at the moment.  I primarily tend to use only a scraper when i get to about 20" of draw.
Kevin

Offline gstoneberg

Re: Scraping while strung during tiller!
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2012, 03:47:46 pm »
I now only scrape the bow while strung towards the end (getting the last few inches of draw length) where the adjustments I'm making are minor, the limbs are well balanced and the primary reason for scraping is to lower and extend draw weight/length.  I used to do it from the time I had the bow on short string and I had some bows take set that shouldn't have.  I also put the bow in a vise to do the scraping.  I scrape with a butcher knife so the back of the "scraper" is dull.  The down side to that is that every now and then my wife sees the knife on the work bench and brings it back to the kitchen. ??? :D

George
St Paul, TX

Offline k-hat

« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2012, 04:28:22 pm »
I'm with George.  I've been doing it a little while now and it saves a TON of time.  I hate stringing and unstringing and restringing during tiller.  Need to get a vise though.

Offline 4est Trekker

« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2012, 04:29:22 pm »