Author Topic: Osage/Hickory combination questions.  (Read 4779 times)

Offline kevinnator11

• Just a new guy learning all of the tips and tricks
Osage/Hickory combination questions.
« on: May 19, 2012, 06:33:32 pm »
I don't have a really good source for either woods so I bought some dimensional lumber online.  I have Osage which is probably 70"x2"x1/2" and a hickory board that is 72"x1 1/2"x1 1/2".  I was planning to rip a 1/4" strip of the hickory and use it as a backing using TBIII.  I didn't have a choice with grain obviously and the hickory has some runoff. 

My question is will this cause a problem.  I plan to back the hickory with some silk anyways.  I'm shooting for 60# at 30" hopefully for this one.  I've heard great things about this combination and can't wait to start scraping.  I would like to flip the tips by steaming them and was wondering what steps to take.  Do I glue the two first with some reflex and then after that cures flip the tips?  I have no experience with this and don't want to waste the wood.

I'm gonna go with a stiff handled 68 NTN with a 10" handle. 
Kevin

Offline JW_Halverson

Re: Osage/Hickory combination questions.
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2012, 06:37:20 pm »
Lemme see.  You are backing an osage board bow with a strip of hickory.  But the hickory has some grain runout.  To fix that you are backing the hickory with a little silk.  Is that about it?

As long as you round the edges of the hickory backing and make sure the silk wraps over the side I think you should be able to make a pretty good bow. 

And as always, post lots of pictures!
Guns have triggers. Bicycles have wheels. Trees and bows have wooden limbs.

Offline kevinnator11

« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2012, 06:40:34 pm »
Lemme see.  You are backing an osage board bow with a strip of hickory.  But the hickory has some grain runout.  To fix that you are backing the hickory with a little silk.  Is that about it?