Author Topic: Wood? for Warbow/ Heavy elb  (Read 11507 times)

Offline Will Carothers

Wood? for Warbow/ Heavy elb
« on: May 13, 2012, 04:40:32 am »
hey guys, ive been building bows for ~2 years now, and i want to make my first true warbow. im only 15, so my funds are very... very limited, so what wood/ wood combinations do you think would work on my type of budget. ive done hickory, cherry, etc; but i know those probably arent the best for this design

Offline adb

Re: Wood? for Warbow/ Heavy elb
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2012, 11:27:28 am »
Osage, hickory backed osage, ipe, hickory/bamboo backed ipe are great combos for EWBs >100#s.

Offline killir duck

• i like elk
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2012, 04:34:09 pm »
pm tenbrook he's got ipe and  bamboo i think he sells them for 50 bucks
PRIMITIVE ARCHERY what other way can you play with sticks and rocks all day and not look like a little kid

Every time i shoot at a bunny i recall the wise words of Elmer Fudd "I've got you now you waskally wabbit!"

Offline fishfinder401

• noel laflamme noellaf2@cox.net
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2012, 05:30:23 pm »
What weight are you looking to get in this bow, alos I understand. your budget,  it can be tough at our ages to get enough money to get good wood without cutting it down ourselves

warbows and fishing, what else is there to do?
modern technology only takes you so far, remove electricity and then what

Offline Will Carothers

« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2012, 10:33:35 pm »
I was hoping for ~75-80# or higher so i can start making my way up, i think a weight like this is a good starting point

Offline fishfinder401

« Reply #5 on: May 15, 2012, 11:14:34 pm »