Author Topic: Hand cramps from handle! What to do?  (Read 5424 times)

Offline kevinnator11

• Just a new guy learning all of the tips and tricks
Hand cramps from handle! What to do?
« on: May 04, 2012, 01:51:08 pm »
So my new "off the hand" bow has started making my hand cramp when shooting.  The only thing I can guess is I'm shooting to far above center which puts all of the pressure into the muscle between my thumb and pointer.  I'm just learning so my form maybe poor.  I've tried to modify my grip but that just kills my accuracy.  I usually just let the force from drawing pull the bow back into my hand.  I've put around 500 arrows through it and this just started happening.  I did remove the backing and add silk so it upped my draw weight and I put around 50 through it last night to test it. 

I've shaped the handle to where I'm shooting from so it can't really be changed.  This isn't a unique problem for me.  Back in the day when I was lifting weights I couldn't wrap my thumb around the bar without it cramping so this maybe a freak thing only I get to deal with.  If not and you have a fix I'd really appreciate it.  I'm really liking this bow.  Pulls #60 by the way.
Kevin

Offline vinemaplebows

Re: Hand cramps from handle! What to do?
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2012, 01:55:27 pm »
Get that way a lot...hanging on to a chain saw, working with a rasp, gripping a shovel. Don't know how old you are, but at 43 I figure it's arthritis starting to kick in a bit.
Debating is an intellectual exchange of differing views...with no winners.

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2012, 02:12:34 pm »
Im 40 and my hands started doing that a few years ago on the car wash wand. Its snowballed since. I just deal with it and move on. I agree with Brian, arthritis maybe.
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline toomanyknots