Author Topic: Osage stave - What to do?  (Read 4360 times)

Offline BobinTN

Osage stave - What to do?
« on: April 23, 2012, 11:48:45 pm »
I have a bow stave that is about 70" in length.  At 52" there is a big knot that turns into a propellar twist with a change in angle of about 15 Deg.

Can I make a 52" osage long bow if I back it with sinew? or is it just to darn short in length?

I am an advanced novice.  Made about 3 working osage bows.  Have not done it in about 6 years though.

Offline JW_Halverson

Re: Osage stave - What to do?
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2012, 11:58:10 pm »
I've had my best luck with ugly ol' knots like that if I can get 'em closer to the center of the limb.  And that's center of the measurement from tip to fadeout and center of the two edges. 

When the sun is low on the horizon, take that stave out in the fresh air and point it into the sun.  Now start following the grain lines up and down the stave with a sharp pencil.  Put your first line down the center of the stave and the next two about 3/4 of an inch on either side of that one.  That way you can stand back and scratch your head figuring out where the bow actually lies in that chunk of wood.  I think there is one in there somewheres. 
Guns have triggers. Bicycles have wheels. Trees and bows have wooden limbs.

Offline SA

« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2012, 12:13:44 am »
like JW, said .....i would also super glue that knot real good too. if it gives you trouble you can always rawhide it  >:D
Shawn Acker

Offline Bevan R.

« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2012, 12:36:39 am »
depending on the required draw length with the desired weight, I would go for the 52" shorty bending handle bow.
Bowmakers are a little bent, but knappers are just plain flaky.

Offline toomanyknots

« Reply #4 on: April 24, 2012, 12:48:54 am »
depending on the required draw length with the desired weight, I would go for the 52" shorty bending handle bow.

That would be my vote too.