Author Topic: Will natural decurve perform poorly?  (Read 3858 times)

Offline Mesquite

Will natural decurve perform poorly?
« on: April 20, 2012, 12:01:48 am »
I have a lot of local mesquite, I mean it's like wildfire around here...hence the name.  ;)

Some of them grow really gnarly but I've noticed a couple that look like a formed decurve bow growing naturally. Wondering if this will work at all for a bow or if it will just snap at the knot/curve area.

I don't mind working one if it "might" work but I don't want to waste time and kill a tree if it will likely certainly fail.

I'm new to bow terms but I made my first bow from the straightest mesquite I've ever seen, it's 60" with about 55" straight and 5" of slight snake where the top of the tree was. I use that as the top of the bow. From what I can gather it's a flatbow or flat selfbow, it has no riser so kinda looks like a plank with a string on it.  :P I don't know the draw weight but I'm not a small guy and it takes everything I got to full draw with 3 fingers.

Offline DRon knife

Re: Will natural decurve perform poorly?
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2012, 01:08:43 am »
Sounds like a neat Idea,you don't want my opinion tho...lol,they'll be a pro along soon. Welcome to PA!! Ron

Offline Mesquite

« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2012, 01:11:09 am »
Thanks, it's an awesome site. :)

I'd like to entertain all opinions on the matter. I have no idea what will happen, it seems like it would be weak though. Feel free to post your instinct if ya want.  ;)

Offline Bevan R.

« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2012, 01:14:01 am »
Really only one sure way to find out. Make one and see. 8)
Bowmakers are a little bent, but knappers are just plain flaky.

mikekeswick

« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2012, 05:07:08 am »