Author Topic: Heat treating yew, another pair of tiller eyes please.  (Read 10002 times)

Offline dwardo

Heat treating yew, another pair of tiller eyes please.
« on: April 18, 2012, 01:00:50 pm »
Hi All,

I have a yew stave, 60ntn, 1.5 inch fades with a taper to the tips.
This is a very dense bit of wood and i am looking / hoping to get abotu 55lbs or a tad more if possible. I flipped the tips and have  alow brace and 55 out to 16 inches.

Problem is due to it being relatively thin it is starting to take set already which is unusual for me at this stage. I am pretty sure its dry and i know i am pushing my luck length width stiff handle and tips but i was wondering what heat is like with yew? Set at the minute is about an inch and half and with any other white wood at this point i would have it braced into reflex and be happily heating the belly.

Problem is I have never used heat on yew before and i dont particulaly want to ruin the nice heart wood and sap wood colour. The other thing is this bow is mostly sapwood with a thin`ish heartwood belly.

The set is being taken evenly across the inner limbs and i have a fair old way to go yet, about 12 inches.

So whats your experience with heat and yew?

thanks.
« Last Edit: May 24, 2012, 07:01:05 am by dwardo »

Offline Badger

Re: Heat treating yew
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2012, 01:06:59 pm »
Hi, Dwardo. You may get different opinios here but I never heat treat yew. You may have braced the bow a bit too soon. I do use dry heat for correcting yew but I keep the heat gun moving and don't allow any color change to take place,

Offline dwardo

« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2012, 02:06:19 pm »
Hi, Dwardo. You may get different opinios here but I never heat treat yew. You may have braced the bow a bit too soon. I do use dry heat for correcting yew but I keep the heat gun moving and don't allow any color change to take place,