Author Topic: Building my first osage bow - first build along post  (Read 13983 times)

Offline H Rhodes

Building my first osage bow - first build along post
« on: April 06, 2012, 07:41:06 am »
Okay, this is my first attempt at an osage bow.  The stave is a three inch limb that I cut from a downed tree that had been bulldozed into a brush pile and partially burned.  It was pushed down over a year ago and I believe it is dry enough to start on.  I cut this stave a little over a month ago and have been working on it off and on since then.  I will bring you up to date with what I have done so far and try to finish the build and post in real time from this point on.  I have never posted a build along and my photos are not the best, but here goes.  I am shooting for a 60" bend thru the handle, mollegabet styled, 45 - 50lb, unbacked bow.  Here is the stave at the beginning.
Howard
Gautier, Mississippi

Offline H Rhodes

Re: Building my first osage bow - first build along post
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2012, 07:45:30 am »
Here is an end view of the rings...
Howard
Gautier, Mississippi

Offline H Rhodes

« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2012, 07:49:51 am »
That was a pitiful photo....  anyway.  I picked a nice thick ring about about two rings down and began working with the drawknife and chased the ring from one end to the other.  Working with osage has made me appreciate the ease of construction with the whitewoods that I have worked with previously.  Tough stuff.  The tools that I am using are a hatchet, shur form rasp, draw knife, nicholson rasp, sandpaper, and chainsaw file for the nocks. 
Howard
Gautier, Mississippi

Offline H Rhodes

« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2012, 07:53:43 am »