Author Topic: Hi Folks  (Read 3769 times)

Offline Bilbobaggins

Hi Folks
« on: March 27, 2012, 01:51:29 am »
Hi everyone. I'm new to traditional archery. I was working on trying to make a bow the past few weeks, but havent had any success. I have read TBB 1 & 2 and The Bent Stick. I think my biggest problem is that I feel like I'm rushing because I don't have anything to shoot yet. I also have such limited time having young kids and work and a wife in nursing school. So I think the best option for me is to buy a bow. So I need help. I need something that is very basic/primitive that will help me learn to shoot and will give me an idea of what I want my staves to turn into. I am on a budget so 700$ bows are out of my league.

Here is what I what: a sinew/rawhide/backed? flatbow with no cut in arrow rest(I want to rest on my hand) that pulls around 40-45 pounds. Im probably going to have to buy arrows with it too. Something basic that will last me a long time with a lot of use. Or perhaps a plains indian short bow, if someone wants to explain to me about shooting a short draw length?

I'm really new at primitive archery, but it is really exciting. I have already enjoyed playing with my new hatchet wandering thte forest and cutting out a few ash staves..

I really need help. Are there any bowyers I should look into or avoid?

THank you for any help in advance...(and yes I did a lot of searching on google about this issue)

Offline Josh B

Re: Hi Folks
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2012, 02:15:29 am »
You might be better off to have someone take you under their wing so to speak.  There is probably a bowyer fairly close to you, depending of course on what region of the world you live in.  Reading is good, but instruction is better.  I believe you will find that the folks on here love to pass on their addiction, I mean knowledge .   ;)  >:D Josh

Offline deerhunter97370

« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2012, 03:41:41 am »