Author Topic: Crack in yew  (Read 2152 times)

Offline Blacktail

Crack in yew
« on: March 20, 2012, 12:04:43 am »
This is a stick I am working on and I narrowed the limbs to an inch and a quarter. I have this crack in there and I was wondering if there was a way to repair them.  I took the blade of my pocket knife and could barely stick the tip in the crack. So it is not that deep but I am just not trusting it in the tillering stage. The crack is about 4 inches long. So does anybody have any ideas for this piece of wood?

thanks John

Offline Jboyd

Re: Crack in yew
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2012, 12:46:49 am »
I am not a yew person but from the look of that crack on the belly side and the back it doesnt look like it would hold up to me.  If you tried to glue it I would wrap it too and definately would only pull it on a tree.

jamie

Offline Weylin

« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2012, 12:51:29 am »
Yikes! that looks pretty scary to me.  :o but I'm no expert. Maybe more experienced people would be less scared of it.

Offline criveraville

• Psalm 127:4
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2012, 01:26:55 am »
John that's a shame. I don't know. No expert, but I hope it can be fixed.

Cipriano
I was HECHO EN MEXICO, but assembled in Texas and I'm Texican as the day is long...  Psalm 127:4 As arrows are in the hand of a mighty man; so are children of the youth.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #4 on: March 20, 2012, 01:37:01 am »
John, this might be a project that you set in the corner and every so often you pick it up and use the experience you have gained to study the stave again. You may get a light bulb moment or you may get nothing. If nothing, put it back in the corner until next time. My corner of shame(as I call it) has quite a few bows in it from over the years but there have been some jewels that have emerged after many though filled sessions.
  My only suggestion would be a sinew binding or two and just tiller around them. Warm hide glue in the crack might help too.