Author Topic: cutting skill saw blades  (Read 3954 times)

Offline Prarie Bowyer

cutting skill saw blades
« on: March 09, 2012, 04:43:14 pm »
Hey guys I'm going to try and make a scrape shave.  I have an old skillsaw blade that came with the saw.  I accidentaly hit concreet with it so it's blown. 

Can it be scored and snapped like a scraping card can?

I like the idea of using a thicker stock.  it wont heat up as fast and the edge will last longer.

Offline bubby

Re: cutting skill saw blades
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2012, 04:56:09 pm »
i useually cut mine with a dremel or a cutting blade on a 4" grinder, with the dremel it just wont get hot, Bub
failure is an option, everyone fails, it's how you handle it that matters.
The few the proud the 27🏹

Offline paulsemp

« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2012, 05:06:14 pm »
It depends on the carbon% in the steel. I am a metal worker by trade and we will score and snap sometimes. Put it in a vise right at your cut line ( with your good piece in the vise) and hit it with a hammer back and forth. It will break.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2012, 05:21:04 pm »
I've cut out trade points from circular saw blades using a cold chisel, anvil and hammer. Once scored you can grab it with vice grips and snap it off. If it is too tough to do like that clamp it in your vise along the scored lines and hit it with the hammer.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Sempertiger

« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2012, 05:42:00 pm »
I'm a hobby blacksmith... Don't get it too hot, or you can make useless steel out of something that would work great as an edge... (make low carbon steel out of high carbon steel and de temper it.)

I would use either Paul or Pat's ideas and find a way to cut it cold. It'll take longer, but you'll end up with a stronger piece of steel that holds an edge.
"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new."
~Albert Einstein~