Author Topic: Making Arrows  (Read 3066 times)

Offline oldhippy

Making Arrows
« on: March 04, 2012, 05:19:22 pm »
  Those of you that know me know that I love me some hill cane. I've been shooting primitive for the last 10 years and have made my own arrows for that time. It was POC the first year then river cane, dogwood, sourwood shoots over the next 2 years, then I found my first patch of hill cane. Things changed for me at that moment, I had found the perfect arrow shafting.
   Over the past week I have straightened 3 and a half dozen. As I sit doing the last 3 or 4 I started thinking about how much time I have in an arrow from start to finish. If I add it all total it is pretty close to 10 or 12 hours per arrow. I was just wondering how long do you guys take making an arrow start to finish?

Steve
I'm only a figment of my own imagination (:::.)

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Making Arrows
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2012, 05:56:32 pm »
Steve, I easily put 3 to 4 hours in each cane or hardwood shoot arrow. I never really timed myself but I know it is a long process.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline EricWard

« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2012, 07:48:16 pm »
Steve you ole rat You need to find you an old hippy to find cut, dry and spine your hillcane like i do I just fletched four arrows no points and it took forever.

Offline oldhippy

« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2012, 07:54:58 pm »
  Eric I know that you are as slow as steam comming off of cold poo. >:D I'm surprised that you haven't broken all of the cane I traded you. Considering the spring water that you drink. :o

Your oldhippy buddy Steve

Offline EricWard

« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2012, 08:05:05 pm »
well Steve some of my arrows look like candycanes with feathers hanging from the ends but i was thinking my crooked bows and arrows might compensate for my shooting

Offline oldhippy

« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2012, 08:19:31 pm »