Author Topic: First bow.... tiller help.  (Read 3542 times)

Offline Baldmoose

First bow.... tiller help.
« on: February 25, 2012, 01:27:03 pm »
so i'm fairly new to making bows.... attempted a hickory self bow b4 and learned the hard way not to use power tools.... developed a huge hinge and couldnt seem to get rid of it....   it chrysaled and then blew.  Can you guys take a look and tell me what you think.....  hemp twine backed maple board bow....  it had a risor until this morning where it popped off.   dont know exactly where to go from here.
Baldmoose
"The Pain is Worth The Glory"

Offline paulsemp

Re: First bow.... tiller help.
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2012, 01:35:57 pm »
looks good but i would take a little more off the left limb from the tip to about mid limb and a little less off the other tip
« Last Edit: February 25, 2012, 02:41:21 pm by paulsemp »

Offline Del the cat

• Derek Hutchison Native Wood Self Bows
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2012, 02:22:39 pm »
Outer 2/3 of each limb isn't doing much. You've got the middle flexing, leave that alone and ease off the the outer limbs.
Hold a CD up in front of the screen and  move it towards your eye to try and match the edge of the CD to the curve of the bow and you'll see what I mean.
Del
Health warning, these posts may contain traces of nut.

Offline Baldmoose

« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2012, 02:41:03 pm »
Outer 2/3 of each limb isn't doing much. You've got the middle flexing, leave that alone and ease off the the outer limbs.
Hold a CD up in front of the screen and  move it towards your eye to try and match the edge of the CD to the curve of the bow and you'll see what I mean.
Del

Thank you Del,
The CD trick is very helpful.  Running outside to do some scraping.  :D thanks again.
Baldmoose

Offline Baldmoose

« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2012, 02:43:19 pm »
looks good but i would take a little more off the left limb from the tip to about mid limb and a little less off the other tip