Author Topic: Archy site I've been working on  (Read 14236 times)

Offline snedeker

Archy site I've been working on
« on: August 02, 2007, 11:23:16 am »
My bow production is down this summer cause I've been doing some real archaeology for a change. I'm a consultant and a lot of what I do is pretty routine bull.  We got to dig a site near Altoona PA though that I'm writing up the report on, that turned out pretty cool.  On a little hillside northeast (upwnd) of a stream confluence, used to be a spring next to it til the highway screwed it over.  People used is as a butchering and hideworking station it appears from late Paleo times through the Early Archaic (8,500-6,800 BC).   Couple dozen projectile point/knives (no bow/arrows then of course) that were very hard to diagnose.  Amazing how poorly known this area is archaeologically.  Did microwear studies  and ID'ed mostly hide working wear on tools.  Did protein residue studies and came up with a lot of dog and rodent type matches as opposed to dear - weird until a colleague told me about small mammal gut being a popular hafting wrap for prim hunters. Spatial distribution patterns showed a remarkable stablity of where things were done, surprising cause I think it was mulitple small visits foro 2000 years.  Did survey or stone tool material sources and matched up artifacts do exact sources with mass spectrometry analysis of trace elements.   they used a very high grade light tan chert, anbd its interesting cause in ensuing periods they stop usiing that and switch to a gray chert.  I know this cause we dug a site half km away 20 years ago and found later stuff and all gray chert.
These hunters would probably have been amused at the studies we did.  report due in 2 weeks and then maybe I cab get back into the wood pile.

Dave

Offline Coo-wah-chobee

Re: Archy site I've been working on
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2007, 12:38:40 pm »