Author Topic: 'solstice' bamboo/ipe...chrono results added  (Read 6896 times)

Offline dragonman

• virabows.co.uk
'solstice' bamboo/ipe...chrono results added
« on: December 25, 2011, 03:55:55 pm »
Hi everyone....happy christmas....I finnished this bow on the winter solstice, just shot him in with a few hundred arrows to see how stable he was.  Of all the bow material combinations I beleive this has to be up there with the best. Very good speed and no hand shock at all...
It is 60lbs @27"and  59" ntn. Came in at 19oz..... for a 60lb bow with a 10" stiff handle, that is pretty light ( I think). I've been tweeking the design of this bow for a few years to see what the materials can take, this time I increased the bamboo thickness to 3/16" ( I usually use 1/8"), to see what difference it would make!!!  This bow started with a 5" reflex and ended with 4" and took 1/4 " of set in the straight section of llimb. It seems that with these bows, after about  3 1/2" of reflex there is a slight deforming of the materials, probably the ipe belly. I dont think I'll push the reflex further with future bows of this type, but work on refinning the bending profile..... and maybe using a different core... Was wondering what was the biggest reflex anyone has got out of boo backed ipe to date, does anybody know? Was also wondering if anyone had tried a 50/50 thickness with the boo and belly???
   By the way,  finnished ths bow for the first time , with 4 or 5 coats of pure tung oil , then made my own wax polish out of beeswax and carnuba wax ( and various other bits)...another experiment
« Last Edit: December 29, 2011, 11:48:10 am by dragonman »
'expansion and compression'.. the secret of life is to balance these two opposing forces.......

Offline mullet

• Global Moderator
  • Eddie Parker
Re: 'solstice' bamboo/ipe
« Reply #1 on: December 25, 2011, 07:06:52 pm »
I love the profile and you are right, Ipe and Boo is a heck of a combination. Very fast looking bow.
Lakeland, Florida