Author Topic: Osage Footed Arrow  (Read 4855 times)

Offline gstoneberg

Osage Footed Arrow
« on: November 26, 2011, 06:20:05 pm »
I traded Crooketarrow for some primitive shafts.  I had one all done and then tried to do a little straightening at the point and and broke off about 6".  I left it sitting on the bench for a couple months and then one Saturday I spotted a 10" length of osage that looked perfect to make a foreshaft out of.  So, I ripped it into a 3/8" square and planed and sanded it round.  Then, I cut and sanded it to a point, cut a slot in the arrow shaft, fitted it in and glued it.  The taper looked very long when I cut it, however when I got done gluing it up and sanding it back to round the joint is only 2-3" long.  Most footed arrows I've seen have a longer glue jount than that.  Hope this one is OK.  It is my first attempt at footing.  I was pretty sure the arrow would have plenty of weight in the front with the osage, so today I chose one of my <100gr points I got when I broke an ear off when knapping and hafted it up.  I believe it's a coral point from Eddie's rock.  The completed arrow weighs 815gr.  I'm hoping to shoot it through a pig this spring.

George

« Last Edit: November 26, 2011, 06:32:24 pm by gstoneberg »
St Paul, TX

Offline JW_Halverson

Re: Osage Footed Arrow
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2011, 06:25:09 pm »
I'll take a dozen, please!!!
Guns have triggers. Bicycles have wheels. Trees and bows have wooden limbs.

Offline soy

• pm106221
« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2011, 06:37:36 pm »
Looks real good George, can't wait to see it RED >:D and when you get done with J W's dozen ill take the same ;)
Is this bow making a sickness? or the cure...

Offline gstoneberg

« Reply #3 on: November 26, 2011, 06:40:31 pm »
At the rate I build arrows Johns'll be done in late 2012 and yours in time for the 2013 season... ::)  Sure wish I was faster at it.  That's probly why I shoot POC most of the time.

George
St Paul, TX

Offline Pat B