Author Topic: Stick to standards or "wing it"  (Read 2296 times)

Offline jcathunter

Stick to standards or "wing it"
« on: November 24, 2011, 02:52:18 pm »
I've mentioned before I'm a complete NEWB.  I played around with some dry yew that was very thin and actually got a nice start on something my daughter could shoot.  I only played with it because I figured it would help me get a feel of what I was doing.  Because the stave was so thin (side to side) it got me wondering how many people just "wing it" when laying out a new bow and how many stick to standard sizes.  Do you just go with the stave and what it allows or do you find a stave to fit a particular style?  I've got some viney drying right now and I know the type of bow I'm hoping to make but I don't if I'm barking up the right tree so to speak. 

Offline JW_Halverson

Re: Stick to standards or "wing it"
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2011, 03:21:32 pm »
The answer to your question is YES. 

I always let the stave determine what it should be AND I pick staves to fit what I wanna build.  Confusing, right?  Obviously you can always cut down a stave, or scrape a few pounds off a bow but you can't stretch them and putting weight back on, while possible under some circumstances, is difficult for a beginner to master. 

The yew that you started on is perfect, in other words it was available.  As for standard sizes, they are kinda fluid.  For example I often build osage flatbows with stiff handles that have parallel limbs until the last 8-10 inches where I taper them to 3/8th inch tips.  For a bow like that there is a simple formula for length...double the draw length and add 10%.  For width of the limbs I have made them as narrow as 1 1/8 and as wide as 1 3/4.  You can certainly go narrower or wider but you have to be willing to accept what will happen.