Author Topic: East meets West ?  (Read 2366 times)

Offline agd68

East meets West ?
« on: November 17, 2011, 08:37:22 pm »
Just curious. Has anyone out there made a  western style bow with the Asian horn bow technique . Would the horn give any advantage to a Western style bow,ie longbow or RD style ?
Happiness is..
A wet lab, dirty gun, and a cold beer after a day on the Marsh

Offline tattoo dave

• Rockford, MI
Re: East meets West ?
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2011, 10:34:29 pm »
I have some horn and sinew sittin around, and I was thinking about trying that out. I was just thinking about trying a straight profile bow cause I've never worked with horn or sinew before. I'll let you all know how it turns out.

Tattoo Dave
Rockford, MI

Offline MWirwicki

• The wood speaks to you; Listen with your eyes. GSD
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2011, 10:37:39 pm »
Well, if you included a sinew backing as I'm assuming you would, it would definately get you a longer draw length.  See my BOM for September/October, coral snake skinned bow.
Matt Wirwicki
Owosso, MI

Offline mullet

• Global Moderator
  • Eddie Parker
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2011, 11:03:33 pm »
Robustus has. Some of his glass bows reflect that style.
Lakeland, Florida
 If you have to pull the trigger, is it really archery?

Offline PatM

« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2011, 11:46:43 pm »
He means the other way around. Horn/sinew for the Western bow not glass on an Asian bow.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2011, 01:28:40 am »
James has done them that way too.  ;D
  If you design the bow to take advantage of the compression strength of the horn plus the tension strength of the sinew it should shoot similar to the Asiatic bows. If it is too long or has too much mass the horn and sinew become liabilities. I think a Molle style bow would be a good candidate for horn/sinew and I believe a few have been presented right here on PA.