Author Topic: Is there a doctor in the house? 2nd try  (Read 2041 times)

Offline paleryder

Is there a doctor in the house? 2nd try
« on: October 16, 2011, 01:26:49 am »
We'll try it again... I'm not good with this stuff.

Below are some photos of a bow I made 20 years ago. Sorry for the poor photography. I've taken some photos with and without flash. It was the second bow I had made and it suffered for it. It's osage orange. 2" of set and now 57 1/2" ntn. IIRC, it pulled about 52lbs at 28 inches. I just dug it out of mothballs and made a new string for it. While stringing it, it looked a little funny. I need your opinions because it has a pretty good propeller going on.  :-[ It always shot well.

Now that I'm getting back into making bows, I am taking another look at this old bow. Is it okay? Is there anything I could, or should, do with it? 

Thanks.

Todd

Offline Del the cat

• Derek Hutchison Native Wood Self Bows
Re: Is there a doctor in the house? 2nd try
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2011, 05:13:57 am »
Looks fine to me. Don't worry about the age, I shoot a bow I made about 30 years ago no probs... it will soon settle down ;)
The snake and twist is fine as long as the string tracks back straight when drawn and dosn't twist in your hand. It looks like it lines up nicely tip--grip--tip.
Del
Health warning, these posts may contain traces of nut.

mikekeswick

« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2011, 05:47:41 am »
It looks ok to me as well. Again the age is no problem, the only thing with old bows that haven't been used for a long time is that's it's a good idea to ease it back into bending. Brace it low and let it sit like that for a while gradually working upto drawing it fully.
The set is due to the fact that 57 1/2 inch is really short for a 28 inch draw stiff handled bow!

Offline paleryder

« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2011, 11:01:30 am »